Awarded by the Money Marketeers of New York University in recognition of a lifetime of leadership and achievement in the fields of finance, economics and public policy.

Martin Feldstein (2008)

For his visionary leadership as President of the National Bureau of Economic Research, building it into an organization unparalleled in the quality and depth of its nonpartisan applied economic research. Also for his profound impact on the field of economics and on society as a whole during a career spanning four decades as a writer, lecturer, professor and policymaker.

Paul A. Volcker (1997)

For many years of outstanding public service, including his years at the Federal Reserve and U.S. Treasury, where he dealt successfully with a number of challenging world problems. In particular, for making tough decisions as Chairman of the Federal Reserve Board that played a crucial role in ending “the great inflation” of the 1970s.


James Grant (2016)
Over the decades, James Grant has consistently been a true thought leader. As Founder and Editor of Grant’s Interest Rate Observer, he has been a leading voice on all variety of economic and financial topics, providing insightful analysis that has influenced market sentiment and economic and monetary policy discourse in the United States.

The country is grateful that James Grant gave up his early desire for a career as a French Horn musician to enlist in the Navy and then study economics.

Jim has also steered the conversation regarding the long term consequences of extraordinary unconventional monetary policy measures undertaken in recent years. He has been one of the most prominent and intelligent voices questioning policy makers’ attempts to deliver to investors high returns and low volatility at no future cost.

Jim is prolific. Prior to Grant’s he was tapped to write Barron’s column “Current Yield” and had a 10-year stint on Wall Street Week, among various other TV and writing contributions. He has also written notable books including but not limited to, “The Forgotten Depression”, “Bernard M. Baruch: The Adventures of a Wall Street Legend”, “The Trouble with Prosperity”, and “John Adams: Party of One”, which to many ranks amongst the best books ever written on the subject of America’s founding generation.

In recognition of these unique and outstanding contributions, the Money Marketeers of New York University are honored to present the Distinguished Achievement Award to James Grant.

Otmar Issing (2007)
For his part in transforming the vision of a single currency and a united monetary policy for Europe into reality, and also for his scholarship and public service beyond the realm of central banking.

Finn E. Kydland (2005)
For his contributions to the understanding of time consistency in economic policy and for his outstanding research on the factors driving business cycles.

Willem F. Duisenberg (2004)
For his leadership role as first President of the European Central Bank, building upon his years of experience as an academic, politician, and central banker.

Stanley Fischer (2003)
In recognition of his major contributions toward the understanding of the effects of inflation and for a lifetime of distinguished achievement in academia, the public sector, and the private sector.

Donald Kohn (2002)
For his outstanding contributions to the conduct of monetary policy at the Federal Reserve Board.

Edwin M. Truman (2001)
For his outstanding contributions to international financial policy at the Federal Reserve Board and the U.S. Treasury.

Michael J. Prell (2000)
For his outstanding research and analyical skill in support of the remarkable record of recent U.S. monetary policy and economic performance.

William J. McDonough (1999)
For his leadership in the central banking community in maintaining the health of the world financial system.

Alice M. Rivlin (1998)
For her many contributions to public policy, reform of the Federal Budget Process, and improvement of Federal Finances.

Allan H. Meltzer (1997)
In recognition of his exceptional contributions to financial markets and the public interest which have helped promote economic growth, stability and rising living standards.

Lyle E. Gramley (1996)
For his substantial contributions to the financial industry as an economist and educator, and his achievements while serving on the Council of Economic Advisors and the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve.

Yasushi Mieno (1995)
For his distinguished career, culminating as the 26th Governor of the Bank of Japan, whose monetary policies revived confidence in the financial system.

Alexandre Lamfalussy (1994)
For his contributions to developing basic standards on cross-border net payment settlements and risk-based capital standards.

Neal M. Soss (1993)
For his distinguished professional achievements which have revolutionized the residential mortgage industry and benefited tens of millions of American home owners.

Sam Y. Cross (1992)
For his distinguished career, spanning four decades, and numerous contributions on the world stage as a public servant at the U.S. Treasury, International Monetary Fund and Federal Reserve.

Karl Otto Pohl (1991)
For distinguished achievements contributing to the strength and prosperity of Germany, and the growth and vitality of the world financial markets.

Gerald Corrigan (1990)
For the exercise of leadership and vision in more than two decades with the Federal Reserve during a time of great change on the financial landscape.

Martin Feldstein (1989)
For notable contributions to the economics profession both as an educator and as Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors.

Peter D. Sternlight (1988)
For four decades of service as a central banker with rock solid integrity and unswerving commitment to the public interest.

Anthony M. Solomon (1987)
For significant contributions as an economist in both the public and private sectors, as a teacher and an artist-the quintessential Renaissance man.

Alan Greenspan (1986)
For professional contributions to the science and art of political economy; and for leadership, dedication and integrity in service to the nation, especially as Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors and Chairman of the National Commission on Social Security Reform.

Henry Wallich (1985)
For his notable contribution to the public interest as a central banker, educator, government offical, and journalist.

Albert Wojnilower (1984)
For a lifetime of brilliant economic and financial analysis at the cutting edge of theory and application.

Robert V. Roosa (1983)
For significant contributions while at the Federal Reserve and U.S. Treasury, and also as a private banker.

Paul A. Volcker (1982)
For leadership and dedication in troubled times; for a lifetime of achievement and service to the financial community, especially as Chairman of the Federal Reserve Board.

Henry Kaufman (1981)
For unique understanding of economics, outstanding talent for economic prediction, and great skill as a communicator.

Otto Emminger (1979)
For achievements while serving as President of the Deutsche Bundesbank.

Arthur Levitt (1978)
For achievements while serving as Comptroller of the State of New York.

Pierre-Paul Schweitzer (1977)
For achievements while serving as Chairman of the Executive Board and Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund.

William E. Simon (1976)
For achievements while serving as Secretary of the Treasury.